The views expressed on this noticeboard are expressed by the fans themselves and do not necessarily reflect the views of Manchester United or any of its representatives. The viewing and posting of messages on this noticeboard is subject to the Forum Terms, which can be viewed here.
Faq
Contact Us
Sort Posts:
Previous Next
  • 13 Jan 2014 4:10 PM
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12 Aug 2013
    • Posts 66

Re: Could anyone win with this squad? - Why we should support Moyes

Also, the average fan puts way to much weight on the manager for this type of decision, showing a general ignorance of how companies operate. Moyes job is to give a list of players he wants to the board and explain his priorities. I assume he gets to veto anything brought in by say the scouting network or commercial opportunities (like signing Bale/Ronaldo etc).

I'm not sure from the outside we can decide how to apportion the blame, but I worked as a journalist for many years and I understand the game very well. From the pieces you can see were clearly briefed by Moyes off the record, all summer long he said he wanted to buy two center midfielders to address the weakness, and a left back. From the pieces briefed by the board/execs, it's clear they were 100% focused on bringing in a Galactico to appease the sponsors - Ronadlo, Bale or Fabregas.

Lastly, the point that Fergie is a better manager is so banal. Ferguson is the greatest manager of all time, so I mean...duh. I just think we would have struggled more last season if RVP, Rooney and Carrick had have missed as many games as they have this season. And in retrospect, I almost wish they had have. It might have focussed the board's mind more for transfer business last summer, and we may have avoided this crisis and had more success in the long run.